Franklin Special School District schools are proud to join a statewide school supply drive to benefit school districts in Texas who have been impacted by the devastation of Hurricane Harvey. This supply drive, called Tennessee Volunteers For Texas, will begin Saturday, September 2, throughout Williamson County. While the Williamson County Ag Center will serve as the main collection point, all eight FSSD schools will also have collection bins in their buildings.

The districts will be collecting only new items in their original form. Those items include:

  • backpacks
  • college or standard ruled paper
  • #2 pencils
  • scissors
  • glue
  • crayons

Monetary donations are also highly encouraged and may be made through the Community Foundation of Middle Tennessee, which has set up a special website for the Tennessee Volunteers for Texas initiative at The priority for those donations will be to help the schools and the students who have been impacted by Harvey.

“We are proud to be a part of this flood relief effort for the school communities affected in Texas and know our Franklin families will rise to this challenge,” said FSSD Superintendent Dr. David Snowden. “We saw the strength and heart of the Franklin community when we organized a similar effort following the devastation of Hurricane Katrina and I have no doubt the same compassion will fuel this drive as well.”

In addition to the FSSD’s partnership, other sponsoring agencies include Williamson County government and schools, as well as the Tennessee Organization of School Superintendents (TOSS). TOSS Executive Director Dale Lynch said that school districts across Tennessee reached out to him for ways to help and is glad that Williamson County has stepped up to fill the role of a collection site. The Williamson County Ag Center, located at 4215 Long Lane in Franklin, is prepared to receive supplies from local families, as well as “from school districts as far away as Mountain City to Memphis,” said Lynch.  “There are many kind and generous hearts among the school districts in the State of Tennessee.”